Skip to content

Skills for Jobs Task Force Formed to Address Labour Needs

NAIT and SAIT presidents will co-chair the Skills for Jobs Task Force and find ways to expand and strengthen apprenticeship education to meet labour demands. The task force will include 19 members and will inform government on ways to increase awareness of the value of skilled trade careers and strengthen enrollment in apprenticeship programs, raise parity of esteem for apprenticeship education and expand the apprenticeship model of classroom education with on-the-job training to other careers and occupations.

The task force includes representatives from industry, labour, education leaders in both K-12 and post-secondary, and community agencies. It will submit a preliminary report in early 2020, followed by a full public report later in the year.

Skills Task Force Members:

  • Glenn Feltham (co-chair), president, NAIT
  • David Ross (co-chair), president and CEO, SAIT
  • Ray Massey, president, Skills Canada Alberta
  • Amanda Rosychuk, senior vice-president, drainage services, EPCOR and vice-chair, Women Building Futures
  • Andy Neigel, president and CEO, CAREERS: the Next Generation
  • j’Amey Bevan, chair, Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training Board
  • Tony Tomkiewych, presiding officer, Provincial Apprenticeship Committee - industrial mechanic (millwright)
  • Paul Verhesen, president and CEO, Clark Builders
  • Ann Everatt, president and CEO, Northern Lakes College
  • Dave King, dean, School of Trades and Technology, Lakeland College
  • Stuart Cullum, president, Olds College
  • Jason Wright, training coordinator, Sheet Metal Workers Local 8, and acting president, Building Trades of Alberta Training Society
  • Brad Bagnall, instructor, Trades Centre of Excellence, Bowness High School
  • Laura Jo Gunter, president and CEO, Bow Valley College
  • Paul Heyens, CEO, Alberta Glass
  • Sandy Sanderson, president/owner Askiy Mat Service
  • Terry O’Flynn, president and founding partner, Prism Flow Products Inc.
  • Jackie Armstrong-Homeniuk, MLA, Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville, and chair of the Alberta Skilled Trades Caucus
  • Shane Getson, MLA, Lac Ste. Anne-Parkland, and member of the Alberta Skilled Trades Caucus
Scroll To Top